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� Effective July 1, 

2009, new 

professional 
privilege tax for 
certain 
professional 
athletes 

 
 

 
 
 
� NBA and NHL 

players are subject 
to the tax 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
� Tax rate is $2,500 

per game up to a 
maximum of three 
games played per 
tax year 

 
 
 

� Returns and tax 
payments due no 
later than June 1 
following tax year 

 
 

 
 
P.C. 530 (2009) 
§§ 64 & 65 
T.C.A. § 67-4-1702 
T.C.A. § 67-4-1703 

 

INTRODUCTION 
This notice is intended to provide information relative to the new professional privilege 
tax for certain professional athletes.  
 

Effective July 1, 2009, a new professional privilege tax is levied on 

professional athletes in the National Hockey League (NHL) and the National 

Basketball Association (NBA).  
 

DISCUSSION 
Professional Privilege Tax  
Effective July 1, 2009, the Tennessee General Assembly enacted a new professional 
privilege tax on players in the National Hockey League (NHL) and National Basketball 
Association (NBA) on games played in Tennessee. The tax year is June 1 – May 31.  
 

The tax applies both to Tennessee-based teams (Nashville Predators and Memphis 
Grizzlies) and their opponents on games played in Tennessee.    
 

Persons Subject to the Tax 
The new tax applies to players who are employed by NBA and NHL clubs for more than 

ten days during the annual tax year and who are available for participation in a game 
in Tennessee. 
 
Players on minor league or “two-way” contracts only become subject to the tax when 
they have been on the parent club’s active roster for more than ten days during the tax 

year. Once a player has been on the parent club’s active roster for more than ten days, 
the tax is due retroactively for any games played for the parent club prior to the player 
having been on the active roster for the ten-day threshold. 
 

The Rate of Tax  

The tax on each player is $2,500 per game, up to a maximum of three games per 
annual tax year. This means the maximum amount an individual player can be taxed 
per year is $7,500 ($2,500 x 3 games). 
 

Any athlete who is on the club’s active roster and eligible to participate in a game is 
subject to the tax. It does not matter if the athlete actually participates in the game. 
 
Filing the Return and Remitting the Tax 

Individual teams will determine the method of collecting the tax from their players who 

owe the tax. The team will then submit a tax return with payment to the Tennessee 
Department of Revenue. All tax returns and payments are due no later than June 1 
following the annual tax year. However, returns may be filed and tax payments may be 
made more frequently (i.e., following each game, at the end of each month, etc.) 

during the tax year if a team chooses to do so. 
 
Adequate records must be maintained by each team to verify proper payment has been 
made for all players subject to the tax. 
 

 
The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a 
result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended to be 
comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such cases 
you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance. 

 


